Dragon’s Eye Pendant

I’m very pleased that my beautiful handmade glass Dragon’s Eye pendant, made by Marcel Rensmaag, has arrived safely all the way from the Netherlands …sooooo happy! …I love it! ๐Ÿ˜€

glass-eye-protective-dragon4“Protective Dragon” glass pendant by Marcel Rensmaag – www.spiritbear.nl – photo by TopazDragon

Marcel Rensmaag’s glass eyes are amazing, as are all of his other beautiful glass creations, and you can see some of them on his website and more of them on his Facebook profile.

glass-eye-protective-dragonWhen looking at the photos I get the sense that the Dragon eyes are alive and have personalities and a whole Dragon behind each one. Although I love each one of Marcel’s Dragon eyes I’ve seen so far there was justย something about this particular one that I connected with on a deeper level — this one was meant for me! ๐Ÿ™‚ This piece was originally called ‘Protective Dragon’ when it was first shown on the Facebook page (see photo above right). I suppose that’s how I feel about all Dragon eye jewellery, regardless of what name it may have been given, so it certainly seemed appropriate.

When I look into this Dragon eye I feel there is something far more than a spectacular piece of handcrafted artistry staring back at me. There is a feeling of life, of an ancient and wise soul that lies deep within that somehow also acts as a portal to an otherwordly dimension. Yes, it is ‘only’ a piece of glass — albeit a very beautifully crafted piece — but it feels like it’s the chosen vehicle for a particular Dragon to manifest his presence through so that I can connect with him. I definitely perceive a protective ‘male’ presence within and beyond this Dragon’s Eye and his ‘essence’ (for want of a better term) has come through much more clearly since I consecrated the pendant at my altar — he was obviously pleased with that symbolic gesture. I believe he is a very old Earth Dragon — there is a feeling of familiarity even though I still don’t know much about him — I’m sure he will reveal more about himself in due course. Maybe this is a simple flight of fancy and vivid imagination on my part? Then again, maybe it’s not …you never can tell with Dragons! ๐Ÿ˜‰

divider470

Wearing my new Dragon’s Eye…

When my Dragon’s Eye arrived and I went scurrying off to find something to wear it on, the first thing I found was a thick black shoelace – that’s what’s shown in the photo at the very top of this page – but although the black looked good the shoelace looked a bit rough and there was no way to neatly tie it at the back of my neck without having a lumpy bow or knot there, so I went looking for something else. I found a lovely silver “snake chain” that I’d forgotten I had and for a while I thought that looked the best.

silver-chain-eye

After wearing it for the day I decided the silver chain didn’t look quite right either and that black definitely looked better so I went shopping, hoping to find something suitable that would fit through the hole in the top of the pendant, but I was out of luck which prompted me to make my own necklace using some black wooden beads which I already had with some braided cotton thonging and a clasp which I bought. I’m much happier with how it looks now, and glad that I made my own necklace instead of buying one.ย  I think the Dragon is much happier too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

black-beads-dragon-eye1

black-beads-dragon-eye2

I also like the way the little beads between the long beads mimic the shape of the horns each side of the eye. I’m quite chuffed with the result actually. ๐Ÿ˜€

Metaphysical Properties of Glass

During the course of commenting back and forth on Facebook about why we felt as we did about Marcel’s Dragon’s eyes my friend Adriana Dragonwitch added some information about the metaphysical properties of glass, which I will share here:

Glass is an ancient material, one of the most ancient known and used by man. The first glass used was natural obsidian, volcanic glass, used to make arrowheads, knives, jewelry, etc. Glass objects created of man-made glass are reported to have been found as early from as 4,500 BC in Mesopotamia and 3,000 BC in ancient Egypt. Many consider glass to have no metaphysical properties, but others who are aware, realize that glass has energy like all else in the Universe, and thus has its own set of properties. Glass is a melding of the traditional four elements, because through fire and air the silica earth element is made molten and transmuted into a liquid only to return to its earthly state as an apparent solid. It can be made to focus light or allow light to pass through invisibly or carry light-waves great distances through tiny strands. Metaphysically, glass represents and carries the energies of transformation, merging of elements, rebirth, focus and communication. The colors of the glass bring the vibrations of those specific color energies. (From http://meanings.crystalsandjewelry.com/glass)

Lampworking & Borosilicate Glass

Prior to seeing Marcel Rensmaag’s beautiful works of art on his Facebook page I had never before heard of the term lampworking or even borosilicate glass. So I decided to find out a little about these things. Yes, I know Wikipedia is not the scholarly preferred source of information, but it is quick and convenient ๐Ÿ˜‰ so here’s a snippet of info from there:

Lampworking is a type of glasswork where a torch or lamp is primarily used to melt the glass. Once in a molten state, the glass is formed by blowing and shaping with tools and hand movements. Early lampworking was done in the flame of an oil lamp, with the artist blowing air into the flame through a pipe. Most artists today use torches that burn either propane or natural gas, or in some countries butane, for the fuel gas, mixed with either air or pure oxygen as the oxidizer. Lampworking is used to create artwork, including beads, figurines, marbles, small vessels, Christmas tree ornaments, and much more. It is also used to create scientific instruments as well as glass models of animal and botanical subjects. (From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lampworking)

Borosilicate, or “boro” (as it is often called), is a type of glass with the main glass-forming constituents silica and boron oxide. It is used extensively in the glassblowing process lampworking; the glassworker uses a burner torch to melt and form glass, using a variety of metal and graphite tools to shape it. Borosilicate is referred to as “hard glass” and has a higher melting point than “soft glass,” which is preferred for glassblowing by beadmakers. Raw glass used in lampworking comes in glass rods for solid work and glass tubes for hollow work tubes and vessels/containers.

In recent years, with the resurgence of lampworking as a technique to make handmade glass beads, boro has become a popular material in many glass artists’ studios. The metals used to color boro glass, particularly silver, often create strikingly beautiful and unpredictable results when melted in an oxygen-gas torch flame. Because it retains heat longer than soft glass, and because it is stronger than soft glass, boro is particularly suited for sculpting and creating large beads, including figurines. Colored borosilicate lampworking glass is most often considerably more expensive than “soft” lampworking glass, and this is usually reflected in the selling price of handmade artisan borosilicate beads and other creations. (From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borosilicate_glass)

Well there you go! Further reading showed that I’ve been using borosilicate glass products regularly in the science lab years ago and in the kitchen almost daily, without even knowing it …learn something new every day. ๐Ÿ˜€

2 comments on “Dragon’s Eye Pendant

  1. hiramash says:

    well, it is really a beautiful eye, and it could be used as a magical lamen. Now as I should have an enochian Lamen, I wonder if I’d rather have a draconic one…

    Like

  2. TopazDragon says:

    I think a draconic lamen would be an excellent idea. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

