Dragons & Breadsticks

Yes, that’s right… “Dragons & Breadsticks” not “Bedknobs & Broomsticks”. 😀 I experienced a rather interesting group meditation recently, and as usual when discussing our experiences afterward we found that many of us had elements of our meditations in common with others. Lately I’ve been having trouble getting into my meditations and actually remembering the details in the order they happened, and also of not falling asleep or missing large chunks of what happened. I did manage to remember some of the details of this latest meditation but the exact sequence of events has been lost, due mainly to extreme tiredness and my resulting lack of concentration.

We cast the circle with, “By the power of the Dragons may the circle be blessed, cleansed and sanctified”, then called upon the Dragons of the Directions, Light, Dark and also the Rainbow Dragon, and then began our meditation.

I travelled up a vortex, into a void which contained a mass of swirling rainbow colours, which is paradoxical because a ‘void’ by definition doesn’t contain anything. The colours swirled and intertwined like a myriad of colourful serpents writhing together on a velvety, black background. Twinkling stars began to appear in the blackness and the serpents gradually took on a more solid appearance as they slowly transformed into many colourful dragons. A large green dragon with metallic gold markings (looking a little like he had been sprayed with gold paint over the green) caught my attention. The  dragon made eye contact with me so I approached him. As I did so the scenery around me changed and I became aware of Stonehenge in a grassy field, floating off to my left. This was the Stonehenge, yet it was very different, for it was made of breadsticks, and these breadsticks were covered in sesame and poppy seeds. I wondered why this rather odd vision was being shown to me.

“Breadstick Stonehenge” by Topaz Drachen

The dragon telepathically communicated to me to climb on his back, which I did, and then we took off and flew high over a huge mountain range, leaving the breadstick Stonehenge far behind. The whole world below us was covered in mountains, with wisps of clouds  swirling around and over them, as far as the eye could see. Looking down at the mountains gave me an uncomfortable feeling of foreboding. I knew I didn’t want to deal with whatever was down there and that I was safe as long as I flew above with my dragon.

Suddenly I realised that I had become the dragon, able to spread my wings to dip and dive through the clouds as I pleased. I flew on and on until I eventually noticed a castle in the distance. I landed in front of the castle and became my human self again. The door opened and I walked in, down a long hallway with numerous doors along each side. The doors were all different colours and shapes, and I knew I was meant to go through one of them. I chose a small timber door that was shaped like an eight pointed star, and painted turquoise. This door was only about 15cm (6 inches) high, yet I was able to walk through it easily. Inside the doorway were more bright swirling colours — I seemed to be back in the void again. Hmm… Stonehenge made of breadsticks, then tiny doorways… it’s all a very “Down the Rabbit Hole”, experience so far. 😉

At this point in the meditation I think we were meant to be receiving messages or guidance from our dragons, but I don’t remember what happened. I was not aware of any particular messages or gifts being given to me. I do remember thinking of the bread stick Stonehenge again and puzzling over its appearance and meaning. Soon we were being called to return from our meditative journey, to once again ride the vortex back into our bodies and stretch, and open our eyes.

As usual, the seven of us present on this night shared our experiences around our circle to find that many of us had similar themes — as if we had been tapping into each others thoughts while meditating. The most striking similarity with my meditation was that of the image Stonehenge. Another person had also seen Stonehenge and wondered why it was appearing to him as it seemed somehow unrelated to the rest of his meditation. Another circle member had biscuit or bread-like walls, which made up four sides of a large column, appear to her. These slabs of biscuit/bread were covered in tiny spots which she couldn’t quite identify until I mentioned my bread sticks with poppy seeds and sesame seeds. There were many more similarities between other peoples’ meditations as well, which always amazes and amuses us. Perhaps this crossover of thoughts, for want of a better description, of seemingly random visions of Stonehenge, breadsticks and spotty little seeds etc, could be messages from Spirit/Dragons to demonstrate  to us that we are indeed connected and to validate our dedication to working together on a regular basis to develop our “group mind”. This is certainly an interesting journey!


I decided also to do a little bit of research on the eight-pointed star. There are different forms of the eight-pointed star, but the one I saw was basically the shape of two squares crossed over each other, or a double square.

The 8-Pointed Star or Octagram corresoponds to the Wheel of the Year and the 8 Sabbats of Wiccan and Pagan traditions. It is representative of the cycle of time and the power of regeneration and return. 8 is also the number of harvest, allowing you to reap the seeds you have sown in the past and gain from your projects and learning.
http://www.tween-the-shadows.com/magick/symbols_magick/8_pointed_star_octagram.php

There are many versions of the 8-pointed star. One is known as the “Double Square” (or “Star of Lakshmi“) and is the Masonic symbol of two superimposed squares at 45° angles representing order and disorder (and probably other dualistic concepts).
http://wikicompany.org/wiki/911:Occult_symbolism_III

The Star of Lakshmi is a complex {8/2} star figure (i.e. two squares with the same centre at 45° angles), and figures in Hinduism, where it represents Ashtalakshmi, the eight forms, or “kinds of wealth”, of the goddess Lakshmi.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_of_Lakshmi

Ashta Lakshmi, also spelled as Ashtalakshmi are a group of eight Hindu goddesses, who preside over eight sources of wealth and thus represent the powers of Shri-Lakshmi (The Hindu goddess of wealth). Thus, the ‘Ashta Lakshmi’ are considered secondary manifestations of the goddess Lakshmi. “Wealth” in the context of Ashta-Lakshmi means prosperity, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny, and power. The Ashta Lakshmi are always depicted and worshipped in a group in temples.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashtalakshmi

From an Encyclopedia: Octagram, The Octagon
Octagon, the Eight pointed star, the Octagram: in symbolism they are all related to each other.

From a handbook on symbolism:
The meaning of the octagram: it is the expression of the “Law of Cause and Effect”. Those two are inextricably tied together: “What ye sow, ye shall reap”. (compare with Karma / Wheel of life) That makes the number 8 the number of fate, destiny and justice. Transformative qualities are: resurrection, immortality and prosperity.

In “The Tomb of God” the following can be read on p.69:
“The eight-pointed symbol before our eyes – deducted from two squares, superimposed on each other – was already used by the Rosycrucians in the seventeenth century as a symbol for the eight points of a geometrical Universe, that was guarded by eight Angels”.

MEANINGS OF THE EIGHT-POINTED STAR – SIGN OF VENUS According to the Samkhaya-philosophy:

Ether (=aum) is the point from which all material manifestations originate. The material manifests itself  through ether. Through intelligence the immaterial becomes manifest.

In the Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna says:
“Earth, Water, Fire, Air, Ether, Spirit, Intelligence and Ego are my 8 separated energies.”

http://www.communityofpeace.net/Britxt/B02archeo.htm

Eight-pointed Star (Rub el Hizb, Seal of Melchizedek)

The particular eight-pointed star (or octogram) pictured here is unusual in that it has multiple meanings, depending on context. The original emblem of two overlapping squares, often with a circular ornament, is called a rub el hisb (Arabic, quarter-group), an ornament used to mark the end of passages in the Q’uran. This symbol, like all symbols related to Islam, is not official nor heavily symbolic.

An identical glyph serves as the emblem of the Melchizedek priesthood of the Church of Latter-Day Saints, who view it as a continuation of the priesthood of biblical patriarchs. The emblem is patterned after a similar glyph found in a medieval depiction of Melchizedek, but is of relatively recent usage in Mormonism. The star in this context would most likely have been a symbol of renewal and rebirth through baptism.

A mosaic illustration of Melchizedek with eight-pointed star

http://symboldictionary.net/?p=3106#high_1

…and after all that I’m still confused about the meaning of the eight-pointed star within the context of my meditation. Oh well, I have lots to ponder upon. 🙂

3 comments on “Dragons & Breadsticks

  1. hiramash says:

    Hello,

    This is such a divine surprise to find this blog in my referers while browsing google analytics’ reports !
    This blog is really awesome, since I practice dragon’s magick in enochian ways, and thank you very much for the link in the side bar. I look for having a reference of yours in my own site.
    Let the dragon’s light be shed on you and your draconic workings !!
    Hiramash.

    Like

  2. om says:

    great job

    Like

Leave a Reply

